you’re reading...

Non-Sports

The Official 2011 Jason Marlo Happy Birthday Contest

Share on Facebook
Post to Google Buzz
Bookmark this on Yahoo Bookmark
[`tweetmeme` not found]

Who will be the most famous person to wish me a happy birthday?

It could be you… if you are even a little bit famous.

I’m not a guy who likes to publicize my birthday for a few reasons. 1) It’s just another day for 99.99% of the world. 2) Fishing for birthday wishes makes you kind of a loser. 3) I’m old.

With all of that said, you only turn 29 once, so I decided to have a contest to see who will be the most famous person to wish me a happy birthday.

The rules are simple:

  • You must wish me a happy birthday (or some iteration of it) at any time between 12:00AM EST on November 7th and 12:00 EST on November 8th (Early entrants subjected to approval)
  • You may wish me a happy birthday on Twitter: (@jasonmarlo), by e-mail: (JLMarlo4@Gmail.com), on facebook: (facebook.com/jason.marlo), by phone: (odds are if you are famous I’m sure you can track down my phone number, or ask for it), or in person: (not many famous people near Cleveland, but if you are in-person wishes count as well).

That’s all there is to it.

Like any contest, the most famous person who wishes me a happy birthday will receive a prize. In this case it will be a prize pack.

Grand Prize: (value: priceless)

The prize pack will include:

  • An autographed picture of me (so rare that none are actually known to exist)
  • A personalized napkin from my wedding in July (suitable for framing)
  • A coaster from one of my favorite places: Great Lakes Brewery
  • A piece of my birthday cake (your choice if you want an actual piece or a picture of it)
  • …and more!

After careful consideration, all famous people that send me a birthday wish will receive a personalized autographed picture of me (value: slightly less priceless)… saturating the market I know, but I’ll sign the grand prize winner’s copy in a special pen to denote their win.

Don’t think you are famous enough? Give it a try anyway, since I’m not famous anyone has a chance to win!

 

Clubhouse Leaders:

Tiffani Thiessen – The dream came true!

John Daly – Two-time Major winner, all-around good guy

Chrissy Teigen – Model, Chef, Queen of Sarcastic Awesomeness

Josh Scobee – Jacksonville Jaguars Kicker, Outdoorsman, & Twitter Extraordinaire

 

Here are the early odds on 22 other people that might wish me a happy birthday. This list is in no way comprehensive. There are tens of thousands of famous people… any one of them may be the winner. However, the list is for the handicappers. I believe the following odds are officially posted at the Wynn in Las Vegas.

Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian): No chance. 0% chance. Odds: 500,000 – 1

Shaq (@shaq): Would definitely be the tallest person to ever wish me a happy birthday. 2% chance. 250,000 – 1

Lance Armstrong (@lancearmstrong): I hate cancer, he hates cancer, and perhaps that bond will lead to a happy birthday. 3% chance. 150,000 – 1

Michelle Beadle: (@ESPN_Michelle): My favorite ESPN personality. 3% chance. 150,000 – 1

Alton Brown: (@altonbrown): The reason that I love cooking. Between his books, dvds, and seeing him live, I’ve donated a decent amount to his retirement fund; maybe he will repay the favor with a birthday wish? 2% chance, 250,000-1

Arnold Schwarzenegger (@schwarzenegger): Only the greatest action movie hero of all-time. 1% chance. Odds: 350,000 – 1

Justin Bieber (@justinbieber): Tweets a lot and is definitely one of the most famous people around. 1% chance. Odds: 350,000 – 1

Tiffani Thiessen (@TAThiessen): My, and I think just about every guy my age’s childhood crush. 1% chance, Odds: 350,000 – 1

John Elway (@johnelway): My childhood hero, really no chance, but you never give up on your heroes. 1% chance. Odds 350,000 – 1

Darren Rovell (@darrenrovell): Hands down the best follow on Twitter if you are into sports. 8% chance. Odds 25,000 – 1

Jim Carrey (@jimcarrey):Active on twitter, probably enjoys birthdays.  4% chance. Odds: 100,000 – 1

Katy Perry (@katyperry): Also seems like someone that really enjoys birthdays and birthday parties… maybe she will share the love. 2% chance. 250,000 – 1

Ellen DeGeneres (@theellenshow): Like to dance and loves to host contests… could she be the winner? 2% chance. Odds: 250.000 – 1

Tim Tebow (@timtebow): Definitely the kind of guy that would wish me a happy birthday… the question is, will he? 2% chance. Odds 250,000 – 1

Bubba Watson (@bubbawatson): My favorite golfer and member of supergroup the Golf Boys. 4% chance. Odds: 100,000 – 1

Jay Glazer (@jayglazer): Seems like a nice guy. 10% chance. Odds: 10,000 – 1

MC Hammer (@mchammer): Also a big part of my childhood, was not happy when he dropped the “MC,” glad he picked it back up. 5% chance. Odds: 75,000 – 1

Eric Stangel (@ericstangel): Head writer for the Late Show with David Letterman. His who will say “Sup” first contests were the inspiration for this contest (except people actually say “Sup” to him). 3% chance. Odds 150,000 -1

Lebron James (@lebronjames): Grew up about 25 minutes from my house. With the strike, not much else going on. 1% chance, Odds: 350,000 – 1

Charlie Sheen (@charliesheen): You never really know what Charlie has up his sleeve. Could it be a birthday wish? 2% chance. Odds: 250,000 – 1

Penn Jillette (@pennjillete): I met him at the MGM; maybe our 10 second conversation was memorable for him: 2% chance. Odds: 250,000 – 1

Snoop Dogg: (@snoopdogg): Why not? 1% chance. Odds 350,000 – 1

 

 

Discussion

4 Responses to “The Official 2011 Jason Marlo Happy Birthday Contest”

  1. I’m less famous than you,and the contest hasn’t officially started yet, but Here’s the first Happy Birthday wish on this site. Many people I’m sure are ‘twits’ however, I am not one of them. Love you Buddy

    Posted by Pops | November 6, 2011, 4:02 pm
  2. So who won? I think the public is dying to know and the winner can’t wait to get their prize!!

    Posted by Kevin Hocevar | December 10, 2011, 12:22 am
    • It depends on who you view as most famous. For me the clear winner was Tiffani Thiessen! No way in the world I thought Kelly Kapowski would wish me a personalized happy birthday but it happened!

      John Daly, Chrissy Teigen, and Josh Scobee, and Kevin Hocevar were all admirable runners up.

      Posted by Jason Marlo | December 10, 2011, 1:14 am

Post a comment

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.